Hampton Roads Geography

Hampton Roads, located in Virginia, has a very interesting geographical layout. The area is split into two regions, known to the locals as the Peninsula and the Southside. The Peninsula constitutes the eastern part of the city and is separated from the Southside by a harbor.

Of course, there are also middle counties as well. These include Gloucester and Matthews, which are actually not technically part of Hampton Roads. However, they are so close that most people consider them to be a part of the area. Other cities that make up the Hampton Roads area include Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, and Williamsburg. Interestingly enough, one of the counties that is considered to be a part of Hampton Roads is actually located in North Carolina. This county is called Currituck County.

The unique formation of Hampton Roads is due to the Elizabeth River and the James River emptying into the Atlantic Ocean. Because the two rivers were and are constantly emptying together, the harbor was formed. In fact, the Hampton Roads Harbor is one of the largest in the world. Its official name is Chesapeake Bay.

Because the layout of Hampton Roads is a bit confusing, many visitors to the town often have trouble knowing when they are actually in Hampton Roads. Generally, there are many cities and counties counted as Hampton Roads by the locals, even if they are not officially part of the area. In addition to the towns listed above, other locales considered by most to be a part of Hampton Roads include Isle of Wight, Surry, James City, York, Claremont, Dendron, Smithfield, Windsor, Boykins, Courtland, Gloucester Courthouse, Gloucester Point, Ilse of Wight Courthouse, Rushmere, Rescue, Carrollton, Benns Church, Walters, Yorktown, Grafton, Seaford, Tabb, Jamestown, Ford’s Colony, Grove, Lightfoot, Toano, Norge, Moyock, and Knott’s Island.